A Little Teaser ~ 9 Reasons Why You Should Visit Cape Town, South Africa: Reason # 1

In a short 9 day series I’m going to show you all the best bits about Cape Town and all the reasons why you should visit the beautiful city I live in!

Reason # 1:

Sunsets and Table Mountain

photo

As we speak my friend is at the airport in the UK where he is getting ready to board a plane to South Africa for the first time. This little 9 day series was inspired by him and as he prepares to visit South Africa for the very first time, I saved the best for last.

Making it to #1 on my list of reasons why you should visit Cape Town, South Africa undoubtedly (in my books anyway) is because here in the beautiful Mother City we have the most beautiful sunsets with the most perfect backdrop, Table Mountain. So it is only natural that these two make it together at #1 on my list.

img_6528

pic-060-e1362054440914

Table Mountain, was officially named as one of the new 7 Wonders of the World in November 2011.  For us Capetonians it was a proud moment. Pictures never quite do wonders like this justice, it is something you have to see for yourself. I have a love for all things mountains as most of my blog followers know and lucky for me there is no shortage of routes on Table Mountain with over 500 walking routes and if you include climbing routes, there are over 900!

20140302-1847181

Throw in the most magical, jaw-dropping sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean with Table Mountain as the backdrop and we have a winner! As you, my wonderful blog followers have seen, beside my love for mountain, I am an avid sunset hunter. I love nothing more than parking off at the beach on my way home from work and sitting in silence listening to the waves crash onto the shore as the orange disco ball of the sky falls below the horizon and in its wake setting the sky on fire. I have watched hundreds of sunset, yet each new sunset I watch is somehow more beautiful than the one before. Each one holding the promise of a new day, giving hope and possibility to anyone who stops to take the beauty of it all in.

img_0802

The best part about Cape Town sunsets and Table Mountain is that you can watch them from almost anywhere but for the most spectacular ones, find a beach on the Atlantic Seaboard/West Coast or climb to the top of Lions Head to view it from above, or you can even drive to the top of Signal Hill to watch from there. The best yet, in summer you can go to the top of Table Mountain (whether you walk or get the cable car up to the top) you can enjoy a sunset picnic at the top of Table Mountain as you watch from high above the setting sun. (Just make sure you catch the last cable way down!)

946068_10151749933816050_995031530_n

url

There is just something so magical about watching the sun set on any given day. It’s like nature, yet again, painting for us, pictures of infinite beauty. I really will never tire of watching the sun set.

It’s with the sun having melted into another part of the world.

And the darkness of night that begins to creep in.

Behind you, the moon begins to rise.

Above you, the stars came out.

In Cape Town, that’s just another beautiful sunset on our doorstep, almost as if you were catching yet another glimpse through the gates of Heaven.

cape-town-20120418-01083

The best sunsets are the ones you don’t miss!

I hope somewhere in these past nine days I have inspired you to consider visiting my beautiful country. There is so much more to see and do and one thing I know for certain is that whatever you decide to do while visiting Cape Town, you won’t be disappointed!

With my friend Charlie arriving tomorrow morning we will be venturing out all over Cape Town, getting up to mischief and doing the crazy things that friend do together and as always I will have my camera ready to capture it all and share it with you, so stay tuned!

~ All Photos By Me Except For The Two Of Me But Still Taken With My Camera ~

Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 9  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 8  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 7  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 6  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 5  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 4  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 3  Why You Should Visit Cape Town: Reason # 2

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paranoiasnfm
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 17:02:50

    I loved the last 2 photos…. and the others too…

    Nice ! :D

    Reply

  2. Walking 4 Air
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 14:06:18

    Thank you! :)

    Reply

Leave a comment